US Open golf 2023: second round – live updates | US Open

Good morning/afternoon everyone. A big day ahead of the field and an intriguing one too. As Dave mentioned in the preamble, there are expectations that the USGA will not have been too pleased to see so many low scores, not to mention that pair or record breaking efforts from Rickie Fowler and Xander Schauffele. In other words, we’re expecting the golf course to be full of bite in the second round. Strap in.


David Tindall

Golf fans would have been forgiven for thinking they were looking at the John Deere Classic leaderboard when scrolling through the scores at Los Angeles Country Club on day one. Never has there been a score of 62 in the previous 122 US Opens but yesterday we saw two. First, Rickie Fowler wrote himself into the history books, not only claiming the US Open 18-hole record but matching the lowest round in major championship history: Branden Grace’s 62 at Royal Birkdale in the 2017 Open Championship. Lo and behold, just two groups later fellow American Xander Schauffele equalled it. Freaks? Two-offs? Weird outliers? Well, not quite as a birdie from Dustin Johnson at his final hole in the afternoon would have made it a trio of 62s. DJ made bogey to shoot 64.

You can bet your bottom dollar that the bods at the USGA won’t be allowing those types of scores today so expect tougher pins and higher scoring on day two. Par is just a number and all that but we can’t have a US Open being won with 20-under. This is meant to be all about grind and attrition, right. Here’s when and where Fowler, Scheffler et al tee off in Friday’s second round.

Starting at hole one (all times BST)
(* denotes amateur)

14:45 R Fisher (Eng), N Echavarria (Col), P Haley II (US)
14:56 N Dunlap (US)*, N Hardy (US), S Stevens (US)
15:07 T Pendrith (Can), N Potgieter (SA)*, R Langasque (Fra)
15:18 A Puttnam (US), V Perez (Fra), A Ancer (Mex)
15:29 P Mickelson (US), P Harrington (Ire), K Bradley (US)
15:40 M Pereira (Chi), E Grillo (Arg), Fernandez de Oliveira (Arg)*
15:51 T Kim (Kor), S Theegala (US), C Young (US)
16:02 S Burns (US), D Johnson (US), K Mitchell (US)
16:13 T Finau (US), J Spieth (US), P Cantlay (US)
16:24 D Thompson (US), MW Lee (Aus), J Suh (US)
16:35 T Moore (US), M Hughes (Can), B Carr (US)*
16:46 P Cover (US), D Nyfjall (Swe)*, F Capan III (US)
16:57 A Truslow (US), C Cavaliere (US)*), A Schaake (US)
20:15 B Henson (US), R Nagano (Jpn), H Lebioda (US)
20:26 M Kim (US), J Smith (Eng), W Ding (Chn)*
20:37 S Stallings (US), P Summerhays (US)*, L Herbert (AUs)
20:48 J Dantorp (Swe), P Rodgers (US), R Armour (US)
20:59 T Pieters (Bel), A Wise (US), G Sargent (US)*
21:10 B DeChambeau (US), F Molinari (Ita), T Hatton (Eng)
21:21 T Hoge (US), S Garcia (Spa), S Straka (Aut)
21:32 J Rose (Eng), R Fowler (US), J Day (Aus)
21:43 P Reed (US), M Kuchar (US), SW Kim (Kor)
21:54 X Schauffele (US), V Hovland (Nor), J Rahm (Spa)
22:05 M Kaymer (Ger), S Cink (US), M Thorbjornsen (US)*
22:16 D Horsey (Eng), B Valdes (US), P Barjon (Fra)
22:27 J Gumberg (US), K Mueller (US), B Amat (Fra)*

Starting on hole 10

14:45 B Grant (US), V Norman (Swe), C Hoffman (US)
14:56 S Forsstrom (Swe), C Ortiz (Mex), M Moldovan (US)*
15:07 E Cole (US), T Lawrence (SA), A Schenk (US)
15:18 L List (US), W Nienaber (SA), A Del Rey (Spa)
15:29 A Meronk (Pol), H English (US), J Niemann (Chi)
15:40 A Noren (Swe), W Clark (US), A Eckroat (US)
15:51 K Kitayama (US), C Davis (Aus), R Henley (US)
16:02 C Smith (Aus), S Bennett (US), M Fitzpatrick (Eng)
16:13 B Horschel (US), C Kirk (US), B Harman (US)
16:24 B Koepka (US), H Matsuyama (Jpn), R McIlroy (NI)
16:35 S Muniz (Col), N Taylor (Can), T Montgomery (US)
16:46 O Browne Jr (US), D Puig (Spa), K Vilips (US)*
16:57 C Pereira (US), I Simmons (US)*, JJ Grey (Eng)
20:15 O Morales (Mex)*, D Germishuys (SA), J Solomon (US)
20:26 R Gerard (US), Katsuragawa (Jpn), M Brennan (US)*
20:37 H Buckley (US), A Svensson (Can), P Larrazabal (Spa)
20:48 C Young (US), D Wu (US), R Sloan (Can)
20:59 R Ishikawa (Jpn), K Streelman (US), M Pavon (Fra)
21:10 S Lowry (Ire), J Thomas (US), T Fleetwood (Eng)
21:21 Sungjae Im (Kor), KH Lee (Korea), JT Poston (US)
21:32 G Woodland (US), Scott (Aus), C Conners (Can)
21:43 C Morikawa (US), M Homa (US), S Scheffler (US)
21:54 D McCarthy (US), J Dahmen (US), A Hadwin (Can)
22:05 M McLean (NI)*, S Power (Ire), R Fox (NZ)
22:16 M Meissner (US), B Brown (Eng), G Charoenkul (Tha)
22:27 A Yang (HK)*, J Schutte (US), A Svoboda (US)